Online tickets
event March 10th 2021

A Concert for the Prince. The Naples Baroque Ensemble at the Sansevero Chapel Museum | Online event 20th March

The Sansevero Chapel Museum and the Associazione Alessandro Scarlatti present “Concerto per il principe. L’Ensemble Barocco di Napoli alla Cappella Sansevero” (A Concert for the Prince. The Naples Baroque Ensemble at the Sansevero Chapel Museum), which opens the 2021 celebrations for the 250th anniversary of the death of Raimondo di Sangro, seventh Prince of Sansevero (Torremaggiore, 30th January 1710 – Naples, 22th March 1771).
The programme offered by the Associazione Alessandro Scarlatti, the oldest concert institution in southern Italy, will be performed by the Ensemble Barocco di Napoli in the Sansevero Chapel.
The event will be broadcast on Saturday 20th March, 2021 at 7:30 pm, at the same time on the Sansevero Chapel Museum’s Facebook channel and the Associazione Scarlatti’s YouTube channel.

Raimondo di Sangro, the brilliant creator of the iconographic project of the Sansevero Chapel and a multifaceted intellect, maintained relations with the greatest eighteenth-century Neapolitan composers and also nurtured a deep personal interest in music.
The four composers chosen for the programme are Alessandro Scarlatti, Domenico Gallo, Francesco Mancini, and Leonardo Leo, all strongly representative of the Prince’s time. Some of them also had direct relations with the di Sangro family.
The concertos are written for single instruments: the flute, two violins and basso continuo, realised by the harpsichord, cello, and double bass.

250 years after his death, to the music of the Ensemble Barocco di Napoli, the Sansevero Chapel Museum thus celebrates Prince Raimondo di Sangro, valiant soldier, man of letters, publisher, first Grand Master of the Neapolitan Freemasons, prolific inventor, and enterprising patron of the arts, paying tribute to him in the very treasure trove of art that the Prince bequeathed to humanity.

A Concert for the Prince. The Ensemble Barocco di Napoli at the Sansevero Chapel
Saturday 20th March, 2021 at 7:30 pm
Online event
Facebook | Museo Cappella Sansevero
YouTube | Associazione Scarlatti – Ente Morale


Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
Sonata IX for flute, two violins and basso continuo

Domenico Gallo (1730-1768)
Sonata No. 1 in G major for two violins and basso continuo

Francesco Mancini (1672-1737)
Sonata IV for flute and basso continuo

Leonardo Leo (1694-1744)
Concerto in G major for flute, two violins and basso continuo

Ensemble Barocco di Napoli
Tommaso Rossi, recorder and flute
Rossella Croce and Marco Piantoni, violins
Manuela Albano, cello
Giorgio Sanvito, double bass
Patrizia Varone, harpsichord

Download the poster